1988 Music+Video: Donald Trump on Oprah re Presidential Run

“Donald Trump Teases a President Bid During a 1988 Oprah Show” posted by The Oprah Winfrey Show, OWN – 3 minutes.

~~~

From the 1980 Rona Barrett video clip now up through 1988 with Oprah, Trump is relaying the same sentiment re running for president, “I don’t really want to do it, no, I like what I do,” etc.

Fast Forward to the present 2015-2016 & I’ve heard him repeat the same sentiment but now in the past tense, ie, “I didn’t want to do it, I HAD to do it.”

trump-i-had-to-do-it

And on that “note,” here’s another song… Pretend it’s Trump singing the lyrics to “THE ESTABLISHMENT,” lol…

Lovin’ Spoonful 1966 –Didn’t Want To Have To Do It”:

Lyrics (1965-1966):

Didn’t wanna have to do it
Didn’t wanna have to break your
[“Establishment”] heart
Didn’t wanna have to do it
I kept a-hopin’ from the very
[1980’s] start
But you kept on a-tryin’
[and lying]
And I knew that you’d end up a-cryin’ [if I ran for President]
And I knew I didn’t wanna have to do it at all

Didn’t wanna have to do it
Didn’t wanna have to be the one to say it
Didn’t wanna have to do it
I kept a-hopin’ there’d be somethin’ [some decent president] to delay it – again
Yeah, but then
No, I didn’t wanna have to be the one to say “The end” [of your corruption]

Was a time that I thought our [political] love could fly
and never never fall
Why should I suppose we [righteousness vs. lawlessness] were never really meant
to be close to each other at all

No, I

Didn’t wanna have to do it
Didn’t wanna have to be the one to say it
Didn’t wanna have to do it
I kept a-hopin’ there’d be somethin’ to delay it – again
Yeah, but then
No, I didn’t wanna have to be the one to say “The end”
No no, not the end, no no no

Songwriters: JOHN BENSON SEBASTIAN
Didn’t Want To Have To Do It lyrics
© CARLIN AMERICA INC.
BMG RIGHTS MANAGEMENT US, LLC

Whattaya Say?